Comparing Legal Marijuana Laws State by State

weedlawsHere’s a quick summary of the legal similarities and differences in marijuana laws in states where weed is legal.





StatePossessionAgeDrivingGrowingSmoking in PublicPurchasing LimitStoreTransporting MarijuanaLink
ColoradoIf you are an adult 21 years of age or older, you can now legally possess one ounce of marijuana21 years or olderIf the vehicle doesn't have a trunk, the law allows you to place the pot behind the last upright seat inAdult can legally grow up to 6 plants, 3 of which can be in the flowering stage.Amendment 64 does NOT permit the consumption of marijuana "openly and publicly.Although any adult is allowed to possess up to 1 ounce, non-residents of Colorado will be restricted to purchasing no more than ¼ ounce (7 grams) in a single transaction.The state allows marijuana stores to operate from 8am to midnight. Cities can implement more restrictive hours than the state allows.The "open container" law in Colorado makes it illegal to possess marijuana in the passenger area of a vehicle if it is in an open container, a container with broken seals, or if there is evidence of consumption.
DCPossess two ounces or less of marijuana, Transfer one ounce or less of marijuana to another person who is at least 21 years old, so long as there is no payment made or any other type of exchange of goods or services.21 years or olderYou cannot smoke in public, even if the car is stopped. And, if you’re driving while under the influence of marijuana, you are subject to arrest based on the District’s existing impaired driving laws.Grow within their primary residence up to six marijuana plants, no more than three of which are mature; Marijuana can be grown at home or shared; it can’t be sold. Home grow; home use.Marijuana cannot be smoked in any public place, including restaurants or bars.Purchasing or selling the drug is illegal. However, you may transfer up to one ounce to another individual for free as a gift.Selling, manufacturing, transferring, or possessing with intent to manufacture, sell, or transport within designated areas is a crime punishable by a term of imprisonment ,
OregonAdults possess up to one ounce of marijuana in bud or leaf form in a public place, and eight ounces at home21 years or olderDriving under the influence of intoxicants (DUII) refers to operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated or drugged, including impairment from the use of marijuana.People who want to grow their own for personal, noncommercial use can do so beginning on July 1, 2015. Each household in Oregon will be allowed to grow up to four plants.Public consumption is not legal under Measure 91. “Public place” is defined under the law as “a place to which the general public has accessRecreational marijuana users can possess up to eight (8) oz. of marijuana and four (4) plants per residence in OregonMarijuana will be available for purchase through retail stores. Measure 91 requires OLCC to begin accepting license applications by January 4, 2016.It is still be illegal to possess marijuana while crossing from one state to the other (or into any other state) under federal law. Marijuana legally purchased in Oregon must be consumed in that state.,
AlaskaThe law allows for the in-home production and possession of marijuana for personal use, Four ounces or less.21 years or olderIt is illegal to drive under the influence of marijuana.Adults in Alaska and D.C. can grow up to six plants in their home, three of them mature for personal use.Not allowed. Adults may possess up to an ounce of the drug in public.Adults can also gift up to an ounce of the drug to one another.Carrying marijuana in any form across state lines is a violation of federal law, and nothing in Ballot Measure 2 changes that.
WashingtonLegal, One ounce of useable marijuana21 years or olderDriving under the influence of marijuana is illegallegal with restrictions and licensingSmoke pot on private property outside the view of the general public.One ounce of marijuanaA few licensed retail marijuana shops are now open for business, with more to open in the coming weeks.Transportation of marijuana products to another state is not allowed
Californiadecriminalized (civil infraction) , An ounce of marijuana weighs approximately 28.35 grams. So you do not commit a crime when you possess one ounce or less of marijuana for your personal use.21 years or olderCalifornia Vehicle Code prohibits driving in possession of up to 28.5 grams of marijuana. Driving with marijuana is an infraction. It can be punished by up to a $100 fine.People who grow for personal use are eligible for diversion under Penal Code 1000 so long as there is no evidence of intent to sell. There are no fixed plant number limits to personal use cultivation.It is a misdemeanor to loiter in a public place with the intent to commit certain controlled substances ounce or less of marijuanaAll marijuana based businesses are technically illegal under federal law.Sale, transportation or distribution of marijuana is a felony under Health and Safety Code Sections 11360. Transporting
MinnesotaIt is a crime to knowingly or intentionally possess marijuana in Minnesota.medical use onlyDriving under the influence of marijuana is a crime in Minnesota. IllegalIllegalFor medical use onlyIn Minnesota, those who buy, transport, or import marijuana into Minnesota are required to pay a stamp tax and place the stamp (proof of payment) onto the contraband.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *